Advisory Committees

External Committees

  • COSMO Steering Committee:

    Oversees the development and design of the COronal Solar Magnetism Observatory. The NCAR High Altitude Observatory, The University of Hawaii, and the University of Michigan, propose to build a COronal Solar Magnetism Observatory (COSMO) facility for use by the solar physics research community. The facility will take continuous daytime synoptic measurements of magnetic fields in the solar corona and chromosphere, in order to understand solar eruptive events that drive space weather, and to investigate long-term phenomena. (COSMO home).


    David Alexander, Rice University, USA
    Arturo Lopez Ariste, THEMIS - CNRS, France
    Jonathan Cirtain, NASA, MSFC/University of Alabama, Huntsville, USA
    Cheng Fang, Nanjing University, China
    Silvano Fineschi, INAF - Astrophysical Observatory of Turin, Italy
    Haosheng Lin, University of Hawaii, USA
    Ales Kucera, Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Science, Slovak Republic
    Enrico Landi, University of Michigan, USA
    Ineke de Moortel, University of St. Andrews, UK
    Hardi Peter, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Germany
    Kathy Reeves, Harvard University, Center for Astrophysics, USA
    Jie Zhang, George Mason University, USA


  • HAO External Advisory Committee:


    Two Years: (January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013)

    Dr. Susan K. Avery, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
    Professor Eric Priest, University of St. Andrews
    Dr. Michelle Thomsen, Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Dr. Alan Title, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
    Professor Ellen Zweibel, University of Wisconsin

    Three Years: (January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2014)

    Professor Philip Goode, New Jersey Institute of Technology
    Dr. Gregory Holland, NCAR
    Professor David Hysell, Cornell University
    Dr. James Klimchuk, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
    Professor Janet Kozyra, University of Michigan
    Dr. John Leibacher, National Solar Observatory
    Professor Jeffrey Thayer, University of Colorado
    Professor Saku Tsuneta, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
    Professor Gary Zank, University of Alabama in Huntsville

  • Mauna Loa Users' Committee:

    Comprised of solar and space scientists whose charge is to provide a forum for the users of the MLSO facility, to give feedback and advice to HAO on the status, desired enhancements and future new developments of the MLSO facility and operations. The Mauna Loa Observatory provides observations of the solar photosphere, chromosphere and corona in order to understand the Sun's continuous release of plasma and energy into interplanetary space and the impacts at Earth. (MLSO Home).


    David Alexander (Chair), Rice University
    Nick Arge, Air Force Research Lab
    Tim Bastian, University of Virginia and National Radio Astronomical Observatory
    Terry Forbes, University of New Hampshire
    Holly Gilbert, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
    Shadia Habbal, University of Hawaii, IfA
    Jerry Harder, University of Colorado LASP
    Alex Pevtsov, National Solar Observatory
    Chris St.Cyr, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center